we start at the very beginning


I’ll be honest with you. I never expected to start a blog. I’ve spent so much of my life living on the road and rarely having a regular Internet connection, so there was no point in ever having a blog, no matter how exciting my life was.

But now I’m settled for a while. Life is still exciting and wonderful, and it seemed like a good idea to share it with you, whoever you are.

The next year should be amazing, and we should have some great times together. My first novel is coming out from Eraserhead Press next month, I’m getting fewer rotten vegetables thrown at me when I perform my busking act, and I’m starting to figure out how to hunt down criminals without getting my ass totally kicked.

Seriously, if you’re looking into hooking up with a busking or super hero gig, you need health insurance.

I don’t have health insurance.

I’m hoping this writer thing works out. Even if it doesn’t pay as well as busking in San Francisco, I may save money as a result of fewer emergency room visits.

Tagged: , , ,

2 thoughts on “we start at the very beginning

  1. captaintricko October 26, 2011 at 6:59 PM Reply

    Ahoy there Spike – Come to Queensland where the sun is always shining ! ! ! Unless it’s raining BUT sincere thanks for sharing your busking experiences ( HILARIOUS ) and literary goals with everyone in wordpressworld. I recently had a great conversation over a few beers and a smoke with yer very own Kinky Friedman when he wrenched himself away from good ol Texas for a tour down under.
    What an inspiration – shame about the hangover the next day.
    Cheers and Respect from Captain Tricko in Australia

    • spikemarlowe October 27, 2011 at 12:35 PM Reply

      Thanks, Captain!

      Your time with Kinky Friedman sounds fantastic!

      I will come to Queensland someday. I have a dear writer friend in Perth, and am determined to make it your way!

      Thanks for writing and for your encouragement.

Leave a comment